About us

The Isle of May Bird Observatory and Field Station Trust is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation ( Scottish Charity Number SC001783 ). The Observatory is run by a management committee on a voluntary basis. Current Trustees and committee members for 2021 are as follows:

  • Chairman: Alan Lauder
  • Hon. Secretary: Brian Minshull
  • Hon. Treasurer: Niall Campbell
  • Hon. Bookings Secretary: Mark Newell
  • Hon Membership Seceretary: Sheila Russell
  • Hon. Property Manager: Mark Oksien
  • Hon. Ringing Secretary: David Grieve
  • Bird Recorder: Iain English
  • Annual Report Editor: Stuart Rivers
  • Other committee members:
    • Brian Etheridge
    • Vivien Hastie (co-opted)
    • Ciaran Hatsell (co-opted)
    • Ken Shaw
    • Ian Skilling
  • NatureScot observer: David Steel (Isle of May NNR manager)

General inquiries to the trustees should be emailed to: bookings@isleofmaybirdobs.org

Various policies and documents relating to observatory visitors and the IOMBO Trust itself, are provide below: